Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Florida

I am currently in a situation where myself and my family are continually harassed by the home owner’s association of the house we are currently renting. We have had issues where the complaint that we are in violation of the HOA rules because of our parking. We spoke the the former president last year here on the property and he told us that as long as we do not park on the street or block the sidewalk we are not in violation of the rules. We have complied with the rules everyday. However, the neighbors have decided to take it upon themselves to take pictures of our parking when we had servicemen painting the house, per the association’s request, and one other time when the landlord himself was parked on the road while replacing a broken water heater. Our cars were not in direct violation of the rules either of those two times per the photographical evidence provided.

Recently the landlord received a letter from the HOA’s attorneys saying that they were terminating our month-to-month rental agreement due to our violations of the parking rules. We do not have a month-to-month rental agreement, but a yearly agreement signed on 1/7/2019 to serve from 1/1/2019 through 12/1/2019.

It is now April and the harassment continues on a daily basis. Now the HOA is demanding that we sign an application to see if we qualify to be here in April, four months after the rental agreement was told to us and our landlord that it was accepted.

This feels like yet another attempt to unjustly evict us from the house when we have clearly shown that we are in no violation of any HOA rules. I’m unwilling to sign any further documents until I seek out some legal advice because it sounds wildly uncommon and like more of the continued harassment.

The house we are renting is in Florida and we are really starting to feel threatened over this continued witch hunt, but are seeking clarity of the legal rights we or they may have.

Thank you for your time.

Asked on 4/11/19, 3:02 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Barry Kaufman The Law Office of Barry W. Kaufman

Hire a lawyer experienced in HOA issues.

Read more
Answered on 4/12/19, 6:24 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Florida