Legal Question in Personal Injury in Florida

Car accident liability

I had a car accident a week ago. No police report was filed per victim's request. I think they are illegal immigrants (they are from Brazil). We agreed on having a mechanic/body shop they knew to look at their car and get a quote. Then, a mechanic of my choice will have the chance to look at the car and get another quote and agree on the price. I wasn't contacted until several days later when the persons showed up at my house unanounced. They had their mechanic look at the car. The next day, I was going to bring my mechanic to do the same. By the time we got there, the car was totally fixed. I didn't see a quote or the damage to the car. At the time of the accident, only the light (on passenger's side) came off. It was estimated about $150 - $200. Now, they are trying to rip me off by asking $850 for a damage that I didn't even saw. We made a verbal agreement for $450 total. The next day, they showed up at my house, screaming and demanding more money that it was agreed upon. Since they broke the agreement twice, I don't think that they are entitled to any funds now. What do you think? Help.


Asked on 2/07/05, 10:23 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Patrick Dervishi PATRICK DERVISHI, P.A.

Re: Car accident liability

Were you at fault? I am assuming you were; and that is why you agreed not to wait for a police report. Verbal agreements means your word against theirs. Contact an attorney.

Read more
Answered on 2/09/05, 3:07 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Florida