Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Florida

Apartment Lease Problems

I moved to Florida for job and signed 12 mos lease for an apartment. After one month, I was dismissed from job. I tried looking for job the next week but was unable to find. I was still paying for mortgage back in GA...therefore, I moved out of apt and informed manager of my unfortunate problem. I paid my rent up for the next month and turned key into apt manager. Then, I moved back to GA. The apt complex stated that I was still responsible for the apt lease as well as electric. They have submitted info to civil court for suit as well as in the process of sending info to credit bureau. Is there anything I can do other than paying for the lease until it expire?

Asked on 1/07/08, 12:17 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Re: Apartment Lease Problems

They have the obligation of making reasonable attempts to rerent to minimize the loss.

Read more
Answered on 1/07/08, 12:28 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Florida