Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Florida

The builder of my house in Florida did not pay a building supplier($1500)in 2006 because he believed the roofing trusses were defective. The building supplier filed a lien against my property in 2006. The builder has since declared bankruptcy. Now, I want to refinance my home mortgage loan.

Can I refinance without paying off this disputed lien? I'm told this lien expires after a year if the lienor doesn't file a law suit. Since this lien is over 2 years old will the bank allow me to refinance without paying this lien or is the lien now expired?

Asked on 8/03/09, 12:36 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Edward J. Chandler Law Office of Edward J. Chandler, P.A.

They might allow the refinance, but it depends on the closing agent. You still may have to defend a claim for the monies owed if filed by the bankruptcy trustee.

Read more
Answered on 8/11/09, 8:59 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Florida