Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Florida

We are landlords; we rent out an office in Fort Lauderdale FL; the lease expires at the end of the year; the tenant/business changed owners though the name of the business stays the same. The new owner would like to stay in the office; we are writing up new lease for new owner to sign, but what happens to original security deposit? Do we give it back to original owner and then collect from new owner?

Asked on 11/08/21, 1:54 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

It depends on their agreement when the business was sold as to whether the security was transferred.

Read more
Answered on 11/08/21, 2:09 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Florida