Legal Question in Tax Law in Florida

We have a group of individuals in our town that are constantly making up raffle ticket sale events. Selling Raffle tickets 1 for $5 and 5 for $20. They promote they are donating proceeds to organizations, but really have not shown any proof of how much proceeds are being donated.

#1 is this legal in the State of FL?

#2 if a business donates to their Raffle, can the business be held responsible?

This group of people are attempting to 'encourage' people in the town to 'support business' in town, who support' the raffle fundraisers. We just want to be sure that this type of fund raiser is legal and they are following the law, before we make any decisions to participate.

I'm not sure if I asked this question under the correct "area of law" IF NOT could someone please forward to correct area.

Asked on 3/26/17, 6:54 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner, McLaughlin & Whittemore P.A.

Raffles and gambling are strictly regulated. Call the city code enforcement or business licensing people.

Read more
Answered on 4/02/17, 7:47 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in Florida