Legal Question in Traffic Law in Florida

I am a diabetic and in 2014 had a hypoglycemic incident behind the wheel, I ended up passing out and crashing into a tree. No one was injured and I had a small abrasion on my hand. So I now have annual medical reviews to ensure my Diabetes is in control to ensure my license was not suspended. However in 2016 I had an unfortunate accident with my diabetic pump that led to me going into Diabetic ketoacidosis. Naturally, my doctors would not sign for my ability to drive, and my license was suspended. However it has now been over a year and a half and I am unable to apply for reinstatement. Despite the suspension ranges for vehicle crashes unrelated to a DUI being 3 months to 1 year. I am unable to apply for a hardship license due to my diabetes, even though individuals who have been charged with DUI incidents may, which I feel is a violation of the ADA.

Asked on 10/29/18, 7:13 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Craig Epifanio Craig Epifanio, P.A.

Unfortunately I'm afraid the DMV can do that. It is not an ADA violation. The best thing you can do is to get the doctor to clear you to drive. Once they do that then the DMV will give you your ability to drive back.

Read more
Answered on 10/29/18, 8:00 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Florida