Legal Question in Traffic Law in Florida

Two years ago, I purchased a Coast Guard Documented boat from another boater in Florida. The previous owner never registered the boat in Florida, so the boat was only documented. I bought the boat with a loan and expected the loan company did not registered it with the State of Florida. The boat has been in Florida all along, but not being used. The Sales Taxes were paid 2 years ago and I have the proof. My question is the following. I would like to register the boat with the state of Florida now, but I am afraid of the penalties and given if I was caught driving the boat it would be a second degree misdeminor, I am weary of going to the DMV. What should I do in this case?

Asked on 12/09/19, 10:24 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Craig Epifanio Craig Epifanio, P.A.

Let's put it this way, if you don't go to the DMV you could be put in jail whereas if you do go to the DMV that problem will go away.

Read more
Answered on 12/09/19, 10:44 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Florida