Two years ago, I purchased a Coast Guard Documented boat from another boater in Florida. The previous owner never registered the boat in Florida, so the boat was only documented. I bought the boat with a loan and expected the loan company did not registered it with the State of Florida. The boat has been in Florida all along, but not being used. The Sales Taxes were paid 2 years ago and I have the proof. My question is the following. I would like to register the boat with the state of Florida now, but I am afraid of the penalties and given if I was caught driving the boat it would be a second degree misdeminor, I am weary of going to the DMV. What should I do in this case?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Let's put it this way, if you don't go to the DMV you could be put in jail whereas if you do go to the DMV that problem will go away.
Related Questions & Answers
I privately sold a car for $400. 6 weeks after, I got a notice of lien from a... Asked 11/26/19, 8:14 am in United States Florida Traffic Law
Is it permissible to wear a cervical collar while operating a motor vehicle in the... Asked 11/22/19, 6:10 am in United States Florida Traffic Law
If I use a car and it has no insurance and get in a accident, I am not at fault but... Asked 11/15/19, 8:41 am in United States Florida Traffic Law
I live in Florida where I received a ticket for running a red light from a traffic... Asked 11/15/19, 5:40 am in United States Florida Traffic Law
I wasn’t thinking and I didn’t get out of the way of a fire rescue... Asked 10/17/19, 11:12 am in United States Florida Traffic Law