Legal Question in Business Law in Georgia

I need to know about Merchant dispute laws. I was in the process of buying a pair of prescription glasses for $500. I charged $300 to my debit card as credit and then realized that I had left my other card at home. The eyeglass place told me I could pay for the rest of it the next day and they wouldn't process/send out my order until I had paid in full. I went home and found out 2 things. 1) I didn't have as much money as I thought I did and I couldn't afford the rest of the glasses, and 2) a friend told me not to worry because I could get my glasses online for $50. So, I went back to the eyeglass place 2 days later (had to wait for the weekend to be over so they were open) and I told her that I would have to cancel the order because I couldn't pay the rest. She said that it wasn't their policy to give refunds on credit cards. I asked her if she had already sent the order in, and she said no, so I don't understand why I can't get the refund. She said she could put the money towards lenses or something, and I said no, I just want my money back. She said no again but she would talk to her manager about it and then they would call me back. I'm upset and worried I won't be able to get my money back. What can I legally do about it, if anything? They have given me nothing as far as a service or good, but they won't release my money. Help! :(

Asked on 3/08/13, 12:02 am

2 Answers from Attorneys

Scott Riddle Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC

You did not give us the most important information. What did you agree upon when you entered the transaction? What is the store policy? Was it on the paperwork, a sign, or were you told about the policy? You can dispute the charge with the bank and see where it goes.

As an aside, I have a couple pair of the $50 eyeglasses from the popular internet site (the name starts with a "Z") to keep in the car, backpack and similar places for emergencies. They are good for emergencies and short term and worth the money for that, but I would not wear them for daily use. Be aware of losing more money if that is the case for you.

Read more
Answered on 3/08/13, 2:32 am

Glen Ashman Ashman Law Office

Follow the instructions on the back of your credit card bill to attempt a charge-back in writing. You must do this within 60 days.

Read more
Answered on 3/08/13, 7:26 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Georgia