Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Georgia

If you receive a dog as a gift but weren't given the papers do you have any rights? Can the person take the dog back even if you've had the dog for months, taken him for all of his shots, taken him to classes, cared for him all of this time but now this person wants the dog back. What rights do I have as the person who was given this dog as a gift?

Asked on 1/26/17, 3:30 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys


If you have witnesses to gift and documents to prove your care of dog, you have a good case.

Might, however, have to be resolved in Magistrate Court (you can file a civil action to stop him from coming and getting his former dog)

Read more
Answered on 1/27/17, 4:31 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Georgia