I have absconded from probation on charges of misdemeanor possession of marijuana for almost fours years now, when I go to turn myself in what should I expect? It was my first offense and I am in the state of Georgia where said charges had occurred. My original sentence for my charges was one year probation and drug/alcohol abuse class.
2 Answers from Attorneys
The absconding may net you a worse penalty than the underlying crime, and you do need to turn yourself in. The smart way would be to retain counsel first and the lawyer may be able to prearrange bond and hearings to lessen time in jail.
You should expect to go to jail for the balance of your probation. See website for info on retaining the right attorney: http://www.lawrencelewispc.com/pages.php?go=pinfo&PID=38
Related Questions & Answers
If you get arrested for felony assault and the charges were later dropped would they... Asked 7/01/13, 10:42 am in United States Georgia Criminal Law
I am 17 years old and will be 18 in November, I am currently dating a 21 year old... Asked 6/28/13, 12:34 pm in United States Georgia Criminal Law
My boyfriend was arrested in March for 2 counts of simple assault and 1 count of... Asked 6/25/13, 6:51 pm in United States Georgia Criminal Law
My girlfriend and I had a fight Monday night the 17th of June. She was snooping... Asked 6/22/13, 10:20 am in United States Georgia Criminal Law