Legal Question in DUI Law in Georgia

I'm not sure if this is the right category to ask this question under, but 5 months ago i was pulled over for a traffic light violation and after being questioned i eventually handed over a bag of marijuana containing less than 1 ounce. before any charges were filed or any tickets were written a drug task force agent approached me with an offer. he said instead of going to jail i will allow u to become a confidential informant. so thats the path i chose. i did fill out some paperwork with him and signed my marijuana as evidence over to him. he told me i would need to help him get a couple of convictions and i would be done by summer. well i did help him get a conviction and suddenly confidential wasnt so confidential. i received numerous threats against me. so i laid low and didn't bother trying to find anyone else who sold marijuana, infact just about every one i knew who sold found out i was an informant. well 2 days ago the drug task force agent called me and said if i don't have someone to convict by today he will put a warrant out for my arrest. can he do this? how long is the statute of limitations for misdemeanor possession? If i do get arrested will the court take into consideration my help with the first conviction? any advice is greatly appreciated.

Asked on 7/08/10, 7:07 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glen Ashman Ashman Law Office also dba Glen Ashman Attorney

Do what you should have done 5 months ago and hire a lawyer.

The statute of limitations is usually two years.

Read more
Answered on 7/08/10, 10:15 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in Georgia