If a person is within the fifth day of their grace period on their vehicle insurance and get pulled over, would they be taken to jail regardless?
4 Answers from Attorneys
There is no Grace period to get insurance. Get it before you drive.
You either have valid insurance or you do not.
There is no grace period for a new policy of automobile liability insurance. If you are buying a car and have no automobile liability insurance policy you have to buy a policy in order to be covered. If however you are already covered by an automobile liability insurance policy on one or more motor vehicles and you trade in a vehicle, you have a grace period of 30 days to report the purchase to your current insurance company to add that vehicle to the existing policy and take the trade-in off. The insured is covered by the existing policy for liability insurance purposes while driving the newly purchased vehicle during that 30 day period.
Let me add to my previous answer that usually there is some proof that a driver would have, i.e. an insurance card from the trade-in vehicle, a sales contract that shows the new car was just purchased, etc. that would prevent a citation. Even if not, I have never heard of police actually arresting a driver for failure to have proof of insurance.
Related Questions & Answers
Hi, I was in a house fire during the 1980,s with my family, where several family... Asked 4/24/17, 2:53 pm in United States Georgia Insurance Law
I owned a garage that I let a tenant use. He stored tools, etc plus a 1957 Chevy... Asked 3/17/17, 12:24 pm in United States Georgia Insurance Law
I've been making premium payments to Aflac for a "Critical Illness" policy... Asked 2/02/17, 5:56 pm in United States Georgia Insurance Law