Legal Question in Employment Law in Georgia

if I have been working for the same Company for 3 or 4 years and make the same amount each week by check does my employer pay taxes? I get a 1099 every year to pay my own Social Security & other taxes.

Asked on 11/13/14, 9:14 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

If you're a 1099 "independent contractor" for this company, it is likely that do not withhold state and federal taxes from your paychecks. Assuming you make over $600 a year, you will be responsible for paying these taxes, not the company.

Read more
Answered on 11/17/14, 12:31 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Georgia