Legal Question in Traffic Law in Georgia

I received a citation for Improper Backing. I was backing out of my driveway. As I was backing on to my street, my rear bumper tapped the rear bumper of a service truck that parked illegally (literally under a "No Parking Any Time" sign). There was no obvious damage but the driver said that because it's a company truck, he was required to call the police to file a report. I wound up receiving a citation for Improper Backing/Accident, which is going to cost me $305 for this trivial event and possibly go on my record (I have not had a ticket in over 20 years and have no points). The officer realized the illegal parking issue only after writing her report but then said only that I could explain things in court. I understand that if you are backing up, you are almost always at fault. But does the fact that the vehicle I hit was under a no parking sign come into play? Is it worth bringing this up at court? I have photos of the vehicle illegally parked that show the sign. I realize that I could just show up at the required date and pay, but I feel inclined to raise this issue.

Asked on 4/16/16, 12:21 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys


With an attorney you may be able to plea where it will not get reported to your insurer, etc

Good luck

Read more
Answered on 4/17/16, 6:35 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Georgia