Legal Question in Traffic Law in Georgia

Recently my car was involved in a hit and run. It was parked in my apartments parking lot and someone backed into and the person left no contact information. I have a witness that works for my apartments leasing office and may even have video footage of the incident that shows the plate number of the car that hit me. I got a police report but the police said they wouldn't do anything about it since it was on private property. Does that mean there is no law that protects individuals from hit and runs as long as it is not on private property? Not sure if this makes a difference but my property manager is interested in assisting making sure the individual gets punished accordingly.

Asked on 1/15/16, 12:53 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys


Yes you can

Need more information


Read more
Answered on 1/15/16, 4:45 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Georgia