Legal Question in Veterans Law in Georgia

My mom died in 2011. I went through probate in order to take possession of her checking account. At the time of death, she was drawing a $306 check from the VA. The bank was suppose to return it to the VA but failed to do so. In my grief, I didn't notice. I closed out her old account and set up a new account in mine and my sisters' names.

The VA requested the money to be returned on May 10, 2013. The bank drafted the money out of the new account without prior approval or notification. Is it legal for them to take money out of my account without my permission under these circumstances? I really feel violated and vulnerable now that I know they can remove money from my account at will.

Asked on 5/18/13, 3:43 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

James Swain Swain Law Firm

This is not uncommon. They follow the money. Whether it is legal or not they don't care because there is no recourse against them for valid debts.

Read more
Answered on 7/07/15, 6:19 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Veterans Law questions and answers in Georgia