Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Georgia

pension rights

My dad recently died, lives in GA; no will; divorced 3 months prior to death. His ex-wife claims she is entitled to his entire pension. He ows money to the irs. He has some cash and a house. Does the pension go to her, or is it part of the estate to be used to pay the bills also. There are 3 adult children.

Asked on 7/27/07, 1:27 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Charles W. Field Charles W. Field, Attorney at Law

Re: pension rights

The debts are a first priority. As to the pension, call the administrator and ask if she is vested even though divorced. If you would like to discuss further, feel free to give me a call.

Read more
Answered on 7/29/07, 11:15 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Georgia