Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Illinois

Today I saw how a towing truck driver broke into the car he was about to tow. He used some kind of instrument (I don't know what it's called) and broke in through the window. I went outside and asked him if what he was doing is legal, and of course he said "yes." I was shocked, because I didn't think he would have the right to break into anyone's car if he was towing it. I just want to know for the future if he has the right to break into someone's car if he is towing it or if I should call the police. Thank you.

Asked on 10/24/09, 8:10 pm

2 Answers from Attorneys

Ira Silverstein Ira Silverstein Attorney at Law

you should call the police

Read more
Answered on 10/29/09, 8:18 pm
Charles Dobra Charles Wm. Dobra, Ltd.

In today's day and age, he was probably the repo man.

Read more
Answered on 10/29/09, 8:42 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Illinois