Legal Question in Appeals and Writs in Illinois

I need to make an appendix for the appeal brief but my research says that I need a table of contents, a copy of the original complaint, a copy of the judgment appealed from, nature of each document, that the pages need to be numbered in succession, etc.

Well, that was all well and fine until I opened the record on appeal. All that seems to be done for me. All the orders are there, the transcripts, subpoenas, notices, in order and numbered and what not.

What am I supposed to do about an appendix for my brief? Or is the record on appeal the appendix?

If not, got any good suggestions on where I can find a model to use?

Asked on 3/02/13, 2:32 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Lawrence A. Stein Aronberg Goldgehn Davis & Garmisa, LLC

The appendix is a small subset of the documents in the record on appeal so the reader doesn't have to repeatedly consult the record, which there's only one copy of and it may be far away.

Read more
Answered on 3/03/13, 8:03 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Appeals and Writs questions and answers in Illinois