Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Illinois

I live in a house owned by my fiance and my dad (had bad credit so he put it in his name). I pay half the bills and we basically act like married couple without the legal title. If I file chapter 7 will the house be at risk of being taken away. I read of term equitable interest and wonder if it applies to bankruptcy.

Asked on 7/12/21, 10:39 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Joseph Michelotti Michelotti & Associates, Ltd.

Generally, in Illinois the name or names on the title show ownership. There are a lot of moving parts though. When did you buy the house? How much money was put down? What was the source of the down payment?

Read more
Answered on 7/12/21, 10:48 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Illinois