Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Illinois

What determines the jurisdiction for the filing of a lawsuit? A case was filed on behalf of a debt collector against me in the Circuit Court of Cook County, Illinois. I have not lived in Cook County in 30 years. The law office representing the client is in Naperville, Illinois (either Will or DuPage County) and the plaintiff 's address from what I can determine is in New Jersey.

Asked on 1/06/10, 4:34 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Bradley Sayad Lebow, Malecki & Tasch, LLC

It is typically the residence of the defendant. It can also be where the contract was formed. There are, of course, other considerations, but generally the residence of the debtor is the primary issue.

Read more
Answered on 1/12/10, 7:06 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Illinois