Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Illinois

My husband had a brief lapse in insurance while driving and was in a small car accident. Nothing major happened to either car. State farm paid for the other person, but later decided to hire Wilber and Associates to get their money, $2326. They agreed to settle for $1861. That’s fine with us but the settlement agreement they sent us via email doesn’t seem right.

Wilber agrees to accept your settlement offer of $1,861.00 on the above referred current claim amount, provided that the funds are received in this office by 2021-09-30. Once the full settlement amount clears our bank, we will send you documentation which will be proof that Wilber is releasing you from the above referenced referred current claim amount. Be advised this process will require up to 10 business days to complete.

This settlement agreement is for the current claim amount only. If Wilber later learns that there are additional damages associated with this loss, claimant agrees that those damages are not included in this agreement, and our client's right to pursue those additional damages is reserved.

Is it normal to say that they can come back for other claims? The wording seems off. Should we hire someone? Please advise

Asked on 9/23/21, 12:52 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Elfreda Dockery Law Office of Elfreda Dockery

this matter involves a small amount of money; therefore, finding someone will be difficult. nonetheless, you should hire someone to represent YOUR interests. if you want, you can call me at 312-372-5600.

Read more
Answered on 9/24/21, 7:41 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Illinois