Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Illinois

My wife was served a summons for some credit card debt she had from when she was younger. It is filed under her maiden name to begin with and she does not have any income or assets. She is a stay at home mom. Is there anything thing they can do? Should she even bother going to the court date? Can they try to come after me even though the debt was way before we were married? House, cars etc are all in my name not hers at all.

Asked on 5/11/17, 5:34 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jonathan Shimberg Shimberg and Crohn, P.C.

You ar Ed not responsible for her obligations If. She owns nothing and is unenmployed. She may be judgment proo. No matter what I would NEVER ignore a court date

Read more
Answered on 5/11/17, 6:44 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Illinois