Legal Question in Criminal Law in Illinois

My daughters name is on the car that I got for her when she graduated with her BA. My name is also on the car because there is a loan out on it, in my name. I've been told that I basically can't remove either name from the title or registration. My daughter is a meth head. I told her she can't drive the car, but I can't physically stop her. I've also been told that I have no legal right to keep her from driving and that if she takes it, I can't report it stolen because she is legally part owner. Of course, if she gets pulled over with her drug dealer friend in the backseat, they will impound the car and I will be responsible for making payments on a car I don't have, but if she kills someone driving, can they sue me and take my house, even if she takes the car against my will?

Asked on 11/16/18, 5:33 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Elfreda Dockery Law Office of Elfreda Dockery

Yes they can sue you.

Read more
Answered on 11/17/18, 2:12 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Illinois