Legal Question in Criminal Law in Illinois

I keyed a car in October 2018. The lady filed a police report, I spoke to her, admitted to her and the cops I did it and promised to pay for the damages within a week ($1000 approximately). I paid her back within the timeframe. I kept the cop updated and had the body shop email the cop the receipt. I haven't heard from the cop or the lady since. Can she still press charges or is this now over? The cop asked her if she wanted to press charges and she said "No." Can she change her mind? Can the cop press charges 7 months later?

Asked on 5/17/19, 5:16 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Juan Ooink Ooink Law

Yes to all of your questions. You can be charged within the statute of limitations for the offense.

Read more
Answered on 5/18/19, 7:24 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Illinois