Legal Question in Family Law in Illinois

My 18 year old had an order of protection filed against her that included her high school's address, as the other party attended the same high school. As my child was a senior and the other student a junior, my child ended up finishing he final few weeks of school at home and has graduated. The other student will attend the school next year and then graduate, but the order of protection is in place for two years. I also have two younger children attending the same school. My question is this...once the other student graduates, is my child then free to be on school property (say to drop-off/pick up siblings, attend a school play, etc), even though the OP is still in effect, as long as the person in question is not present? It's about the person, not the address, correct?


Asked on 6/14/18, 10:23 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jonathan Shimberg SHIMBERG and CROHN, P.C.

The simple answer is no - the OP is the OP - if it says she cannot be near the school, then she annot be near the school. If oyu want it modified, thn you can seek a modification.

Read more
Answered on 6/14/18, 10:36 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Illinois