Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Illinois

I was just served a summons for law suit in the state of Illinois claiming my company defrauded the plaintiff out of a lot of money and breach of contract, but they have the wrong company. I have no idea who the plaintiff is and have never done business of the kind they are describing or in the state of Illinois (I'm in NC). There are no addresses or individuals named for the defendant in any of their exhibits shown in the summons I received. They clearly found my company name in North Carolina and decided to sue me. How do I prove I'm not the defendant in my motion to dismiss filing? I can file the motion to dismiss myself, but am unsure how to prove my LLC is not the company he did business with?

Asked on 1/16/21, 11:19 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Elfreda Dockery Law Office of Elfreda Dockery

unfortunately, you will have to hire an attorney to represent the llc. call me at 312-372-5600 to discuss further.

Read more
Answered on 1/17/21, 1:50 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Illinois