Legal Question in Employment Law in Illinois

I drive a truck from 6pm-6am. At 5am I hadnt taken my lunch break yet and I had nodded for 5-10 min. A supervisor seen me and woke me up & asked if I were sleeping. I told her that I must have nodded off, besides I havent taken my lunch break yet. It was not an intensional act to sleep, but an accident. I have been on this job for 6 yrs with no pror write ups of any kind. Now I am suspended until further notice, maybe even fired. A while back I witnessed along with two other witnesses, this same supervisor waking another driver up and didnt report it at all. Even though it was an accident, our 1/2 hour lunch breaks are unpaid so its our own time, and even if I did want to take a nap on my lunch break it is legal isnt it? This is a very urgent matter. Please help

Asked on 10/05/09, 5:31 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Sal Sheikh

You need to speak with an emplyment attorney in person.

I do consultations for a nominal fee.

Read more
Answered on 10/13/09, 9:51 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Illinois