Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Illinois

My landlord is demanding we pay the rent in cash or direct deposit. Can he do this? He has already told another tenant in the building that he is going to lie and say I didn't pay my rent even though I have a copy of the money order and a signed receipt from him.

Asked on 12/18/17, 2:18 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

As long as you get receipts, do you care? Trying paying in pennies. But no unless you agree to a lease provision requiring that kind of payment, your only obligation is to pay in dollars probably on the 1st of each month.

Read more
Answered on 12/20/17, 2:12 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Illinois