Legal Question in Medical Malpractice in Illinois

I slipped and broke my arm going down my front steps wed feb 19th about 5:40am as i was leaving out for work. i was taken by abulance to jackson park hospital. they took xrays and gave me a shot of pain meds. iwas told i have a trauma fracture or mid humerous fracture to my right arm. when they said fracture, i thought a crack in the bone so when they just gave me a sling i thought it may be the treatment for it. then i saw the xray. my bone is broke and seperated. which expalins why i feel it moving back and forth in my arm. they said i had to make an appointment with the ortho doctor to get casted. i called and made the appointment soon as i got home. the following day i saw the doctor. he said it would be better for me to have the surgery to correct the break, a cast may not guarantee it heals correctly. we asked him if he would be the one performing the surgery and he told us ,yes, and he could recommend us to another doctor but honestly no one wants to take a public aid card. then he said it would be 5 to 15 days before i can be scheduled for surgery. i was given a brace to wear with the sling. but i am now, still sitting here in pain with a loose arm. i've never seen or heard of someone going to the hospital and not be treated at that time for a broken bone. is this failure to treat or neglect becase of my health insurance?

Asked on 2/23/14, 10:28 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Lawrence A. Stein Aronberg Goldgehn Davis & Garmisa, LLC


Read more
Answered on 2/23/14, 10:35 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Medical Malpractice Law questions and answers in Illinois