Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Illinois

What are the tax implications when a my 1/2 share of a property is Quit Claim to my nephew? Also if there is a tax implication is it due the year that the property is transfer? Thank You

Asked on 10/12/17, 8:54 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Income tax? or Property tax? I'll assume income. The kind of deed is irrelevant. It is the nature of the transaction that is, however. Was it an arms length sale? "Sweetheart" deal? Gift? You need to be more specific. Thanks.

Read more
Answered on 11/01/17, 11:03 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Illinois