Legal Question in Administrative Law in Indiana

License to Carry Concealed Weapon - Permit to Carry

Does the Administrative Division of the Indiana State Police have the ultimate authority in handgun licensing (permit to carry)? Is this licensing under the Administrative Branch of the Indiana Government? If the Indiana State Police say a violation of IC35-47-1-7(5) has occurred. And the county prosecutor and the county sheriff's dept. says that a violation of IC35-47-2-17 has occurred. Who has actual authority to make the decision? Can judicial officers exercise the authority of the Superintendent of the Indiana State Police? Can judicial officers make decisions of an Administrative Law Judge? If an Administrative hearing was held, and a default order was imposed. And this was the final administrative action, does that mean they did not refer this for criminal prosecution? Any information you could provide on this subject would be greatly appreciated. And thank you!

Asked on 2/10/98, 5:35 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys


Indiana Law Administrative Law

I am not familiar with Indiana Law, as I am a California attorney.You should consult with an Indiana Lawyer. Best wishes.

Read more
Answered on 2/13/98, 12:31 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Administrative Law questions and answers in Indiana