Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Indiana

An apartment complex sent me to collections back in 2013. I just found out once I checked my credit. I had never received anything by mail or phone. When I contact the previous apartments, they have been switched to new owners and quote "do not have information or records for evictions before 2016 anymore". There was NO lawsuit ever filed and nothing I received. This collection has been on there for 4 years I guess...Collection agency has no information or records other than the name of the apartments. When I moved out, they had said I did not have to pay because I did not live there very long. Of course I did not think smart to get that in writing at the time. I do not have any copy of the old lease either. Can I contact the credit bureau to get it removed since it cant be verified ?

Asked on 9/28/17, 1:42 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Wilk Rubino Ruman Crosmer & Polen

Probably not. Getting this fixed is a nightmare!

Read more
Answered on 9/28/17, 5:49 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Indiana