Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Indiana

auto loan co-signer died

My grandmother co-signed on a car for me a few years ago, and she recently passed away. Before I contact my loan holder, I would like to know what is going to happen when I tell them? I've made every payment, and never been late, and I'd like for them to take her name off of the car all together and not have to involve the estate at all . . .what will they do?

Asked on 2/06/09, 10:37 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Samuel Hasler Samuel Hasler

Re: auto loan co-signer died

This is not really a legal question. Whether her death puts the loan into default will be a decision left to the lender. You need to read the loan agreement and see if her death makes this a default.

Read more
Answered on 2/08/09, 10:19 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Indiana