Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Indiana

Medical Bill

My wife's physician suggested that she have a genetic test completed. Blood was drawn and sent to the lab. The doctor had my wife sign the consent form, but informed her that the lab would contact our insurance provider, obtain a cost to run the test and provide us with the cost before they conducted the test. The lab company never contacted us, ran the test and sent us the results along with a bill for $3,000. When we called the lab, they said it is not their responsibility to determine the cost and since my wife signed the test request form, that was enough to run the test.

The statement on the signed form says “I understand that if I am responsible for more than $375 co-insurance (excluding unmet deductibles) we will contact you prior to releasing the test.”

This statement along with the “Ordering Physician” saying that the lab would call with the price led us to believe that the lab would call us prior to running the test. We have a very high deductible – if the lab truly did call our insurance company, they would have easily known that the cost to us would have been more than $375. We would never have authorized the test to run if we knew the cost to us was going to be $3,000. Do we have a case to not pay this bill?


Asked on 11/17/08, 1:25 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

C. David DuMond Law Offices of David DuMond

Re: Medical Bill

Based on the data contained in your question, you have a right to contest the charges exceeding $375. Repeat this information to the lab, and make clear you protest the extra charges. Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 11/17/08, 2:20 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Indiana