Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Indiana

Being sued for propane from the gas co.

The landlord that I rented from had me to put bulk gas (propane) in my name Since I was the new Renter There was a bill for $800. in which became mine since I was renting the house now. He had ordered more gas in Dec.07 Without my say so and I moved out in 1/10/08. Since then there has been two other familys that has lived there and they sold the place on a contract sale in the summer of 07 and the gas was left in my name until Sept.08 I had no ideal about this and He has died 3 wks ago But his wife is still alive. Now I am being sued for $2000.00 for the gas that I never used by the gas company. I paid $100. in Aug. of 07 and Oct,Nov,and Dec. I paid $120.Ea. month for the gas that i used. Like i said I moved out Jan, 1/10/08 and I have a lease that has the date on it 1/15/08 when I started renting it. Now what can I do for them NOT takeing that out of my name when I moved out and someone else moved in.( I had to) I never lived there and the gas was in my name since Aug. 07 to Sept. 08 What can I do to the gas Co. and the landlord for theft or Fraud of useing my name and now I am being sued for the gas that I never ordered or used...... PLEASE HELP ME

Asked on 1/29/09, 8:22 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Samuel Hasler Samuel Hasler

Re: Being sued for propane from the gas co.

You made a mistake in not notifying the propane company. I do not see any defense to the company's claim. On the other hand, you do have a claim against the landlord and/or his estate.

Read more
Answered on 1/30/09, 9:06 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Indiana