Legal Question in Criminal Law in Indiana

I was stopped and the sheriff said a call came in stating that I pointed a gun at someone. This someone has not materialized, and they won't because it's not true. The state policeman at the scene of the stop took my contact information. I was not arrested, they ran the SN of my gun, returned it to me and I was on my way.

The state policeman said that if the accuser calls back and can identify the gun, they'll file charges against me. Since the gun was never exposed, this won't happen. However, the police have the description of my gun, and there is nothing to stop them from coaching a "witness."

I want charges filed against the person who called this report in, and if no call exists, I want charges filed against the police. A local attorney told me not to "stir the pot" by requesting the 911 transcripts or filing a complaint, and to act only if charges are filed against me.

So, how long do I have to live with this hanging over my head? Should I press for an investigation into the caller and the police if there was no call? Can I obtain a transcript of the calls that morning without fear of reprisal?

Asked on 9/26/11, 6:15 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jay Rigdon Rockhill Pinnick LLP

The local attorney is correct.

Read more
Answered on 9/27/11, 7:00 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Indiana