Legal Question in Discrimination Law in Indiana

Refused service

For the past four years I have stopped by a local private club to have a drink. The club is a Members and guests only but some of my friends who are members made it clear that if I want to stop in, I am to be considered their guest. I would estimate I have stopped approximately three times in the last year, always with a friend who isn't a member either. Two nights ago we stopped in when I was visiting in town and the bartender who is normally there when we stop, told me she could not serve me due to orders from one of the trustees of the club. My friend asked if that included her as well and we were told she could be served but I could not. I am a 54 year old well mannered and reserved woman and it was a humiliating experience. I si t legal for a club to deny service to one non-member and not the other who accompanys her?

Asked on 8/02/02, 7:48 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Cortson Law Office of Michael D. Cortson, Esq.

Re: Refused service

Yes. It is a private club. They can cater to whom ever they want. Stop mooching and join.

Read more
Answered on 8/02/02, 8:00 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in Indiana