Legal Question in Family Law in Indiana

Friend is in a relationship with an emotionally abusive boyfriend and they have a kid together, she told the boyfriend that she was into open relationships when they first started dating and he said he was fine with it, eventually he started distancing her from her friends, by telling her that her friends hate her and telling her stuff that’s not true, and then he belittles her, she eventually found another boyfriend and the abusive one didn’t like it and got depressed and stressed and now the parents of the emotionally abusive boyfriend are threatening to sue her for legal custody of the child unless she agrees with the abusive boyfriend to end it with the other boyfriend, and she’s scared if she goes into the custody battle that she’s gonna lose because of her past with cutting and alcohol problems but she’s the one that takes care of the kid the most, can she win the custody battle if she fights for her daughter? This is in Indiana

Asked on 4/07/20, 11:59 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jay Rigdon Rockhill Pinnick LLP

Can she win? Yes. What are her real chances of winning? There are still many more facts that need to be discussed. Get your friend in front of a family law attorney if she is serious about retaining custody in a dispute.

Read more
Answered on 4/08/20, 6:52 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Indiana