Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Indiana

A car was given to me for work I did for a friend. My step daughter and her boy friend had a baby that was a few months old and his car was not very safe. My wife and I talked about selling it to them, but ended up telling them that we would give them the car instead. The deal was that we would give them the car to use for free, but that if they ended up getting another car and didn't want it that we got it back. They were fine with that. Well, a few weeks ago he bought another car and so we told them we would come get the car. Everything was gong ok and we agreed that we would pay a little to them for putting 2 new tires on it and having a few other things fixed. We told them that we were going to get the car and take it to the tire store they bought the tires and get them prorated and go from there on how much to give them, but when we got to where they had the car, which was about a 2 hr drive for us, he said we weren't getting the car until he had money in hand. Cops were called but like they said there was nothing they could do. He has since then sold it and are wondering what, if anything, that we can do. We live in IN and they live in MI.

Asked on 8/25/17, 10:24 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Wilk Rubino Ruman Crosmer & Polen

You are toast.

Read more
Answered on 8/27/17, 9:50 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Indiana