Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Indiana

I have been cleaning houses for 15 years. Most clients give me a key to their home. A woman I have been cleaning now for over 10 years just a few weeks ago gave me a key to her home since 50% of the time I am scheduled to cleran her home she forgets and is never around to let me in and I lose out financeially. When I returned to this woman's house on the scheduled cleaning day, I could not locate the key she gave me. Today her husband informed me to make arrangements with him so that he can replace all four locks on the doors since they all use the same key. The house value is approx. $500,000. I live 20 mile3s from this house. No one even knows who my customers are. Am I responsible to replace the locks on all the doors or just one. My husband has been laid off for six months and times are a little tough trying to pay bills and the college expenses for one of my three children. Thank you for your help. Jacqueline Barbar

Asked on 10/29/09, 12:31 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Burton Padove Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove

You have placed the security of the house

at risk. I suggest that you look more thoroughly

and work out a credit on your services in lieu of a cash payment.

Read more
Answered on 11/03/09, 8:58 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Indiana