Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Indiana

Do judges take into consideration a person's monthly bills before ordering a wage garnishment? I am concerned that we will not be able to pay our bills if a wage garnishment of 25% of our wages is ordered. Do the judges usually set the garnishment for less if the wages are not high enough to allow the person to pay their bills and the debt?

Asked on 8/11/09, 2:31 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Burton Padove Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove

Judges usually follow the law If this is your only garnishment, it will probably be 25% . However, if the other side agrees, it can be less, so talk with the creditor.

Read more
Answered on 8/11/09, 2:40 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Indiana