Legal Question in Insurance Law in Indiana

My brother worked and had a 401K, he was laid off and ended up changing jobs. The 401 k that is there is still there and has his mother as the beneficiary. After he left this job he got married and forgot to change the beneficiary. I read that the 401k automatically goes to the spouse unless she has signed the rights to the other beneficiary listed (which she did not because they forgot about having it). Now that my brother has passed away does the 401k money go to the mother or the wife? We live in INDIANA

Asked on 3/30/17, 7:11 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Wilk Rubino Ruman Crosmer & Polen

To the mother.

Read more
Answered on 3/31/17, 2:17 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in Indiana