Legal Question in Personal Injury in Indiana

Automobile Injury Claims that are clearly false.

Recently I was in an minor fender bender leaving nothing but a scratch on my car and a very small ding on the bumper of the car in front of me. The passenger in the other car became melodramatic and insisted she was injured even though there was no possible way she could have been due to the fact that we bumped the other cars bumper at a stop light. The cars were not even jarred enough to lock any of the seatbelts up. The woman insisted on being carted off to the hospital in an ambulance even though we saw her lug her heavy purse onto the gurney with the shoulder she insisted we injured. What can we do to protect ourselves? Surely she can't charge us for an ambulance ride and medical bills when there is no way humanely possible she could have been injured. Both the woman passenger and the driver made several comments on how nice our car was and the fact that we (my wife and I) must have money. Just because we have more money than they do doesn't mean they should profit from it, what can we do?

Asked on 3/21/03, 10:20 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

C. David DuMond Law Offices of David DuMond

Re: Automobile Injury Claims that are clearly false.

Talk this over with your insurance agent. Your insurance company can decide if they want to conduct a pre-claim investigation. It's their problem, not yours.

Read more
Answered on 3/22/03, 7:20 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Indiana