Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Indiana

House Contract

We currently have a contract to buy with the owners of the house we are living in. We were unable to get financing at the time they needed out so we wrote a contract in their kitchen. It was only signed by us and her and was never taken to a courthouse. Since then, we have found out that the previous owner was a drug dealer from the home. There were also some apartments across a small lot that are section 8 and they have lots of drug deals going on there. We have a 4 year old child and really don't feel safe in buying the home to stay there. Are we ''legally'' bound by this contract since it was only signed by us? Also, the seller told us there was no termites/ants or any issues. The day we moved in (got the keys) she informed us that she had spent a lot of money last year for termite protection due to damages. So it was a bold faced lie. Is there anything at all we can do?

Asked on 7/09/08, 12:31 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Burton Padove Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove

Re: House Contract

Your situation is a bit intricate. You should see an attorney in person. Godo luck.

Read more
Answered on 7/09/08, 2:22 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Indiana