Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Indiana

We have lived in our home for 4 years in a new subdivision that for our area is a fairly expensive neighborhood, when complete it will have 28 homes. We just recently got some new neighbors who built a very nice home... however much to our displeasure they have placed their very large propane tank very close to our property line (in the back yard) as well as in clear view from every window or anywhere from the back of our home and our deck area, it is truly an eye sore. They placed it to were it is not an eye sore from their home as their home is "turned" to match the conture of the street. Is it legal to place an object to were it disrupts our view? As well as having a possible impact on our home value? One last note is that every home in our subdivision that has a propane tank has it tucked away close to their home so it is of not in clear view.

Asked on 4/21/10, 5:23 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Burton Padove Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove

Absent a subdivision covenant or a violation of a municipal or county ordinance, you are probably out of luck.

Read more
Answered on 4/26/10, 5:50 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Indiana