Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Indiana

We are the seller of a home, and we had a offer made, it was accepted. Home inspection revealed needed radon midiation in basement, and a couple of minor repairs done to home. Inspection also said roof was worn and showed some hail damage. Never said it needed to replaced. Buyers are asking for new roof. We did the other repairs and installed midigation system in basement. Home is 3 years old. We had insurance adjustor and a roofing contractor come out to look at roof. Both said roof was good for 20 more years, and there were a few nail pops, nothing major. So we had those fixed. Buyers backed out because we would not put a new roof on. We are wanting to keep earnest money. They are suing us for the return of 1000.00 dollars in earnest money. What do you suggest?

Asked on 8/22/09, 9:13 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Burton Padove Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove

Please repost with the exact language of the inspection clause in your agreement to purchase.

Read more
Answered on 8/23/09, 12:41 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Indiana