Legal Question in Social Security Law in Indiana

Crohn's Disease--SSDI, initial denial, any tips

I have crohn's. I was placed on a Fed Emp disability in 1994. At the time, I applied for and was denied SSDI. I didn't know that most are turned down initially, and did not appeal.

I was well enough to work for almost 3 years (2002-2005), but am still disabled per my Fed pension.

In May 2005, my condition worsened to a point that I can not work. I have persistent and recurrent small bowel obstructions, which is what SSA says is one of the qualifying conditions for crohn's disease. This is confirmed via barium x-rays and recurrent hospitalizations. I am at the point that I need surgery to remove more of my small intestine, which is a major step. They only do this surgery if heavy duty medicines don’t work, and they haven’t worked for me.

At this point, I have been unable to work for one year.

I applied for SSDI in the fall of 2005, and have been denied initially. I asked for reconsideration, and that is in process.

Can anyone tell me how likely approval might be for my reconsideration request. What exactly do they need to find me disabled? What steps can I take to help convince DDS and SSA that I am truly disabled by this condition?

Asked on 4/18/06, 10:56 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mary J. Hoeller, R.N., J.D. Attorney At Law

Re: Crohn's Disease--SSDI, initial denial, any tips

You should consult with/hire an attorney.

Read more
Answered on 4/19/06, 7:11 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Social Security Law questions and answers in Indiana