Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Indiana

a person dies in indiana without assets except for around 8,000 in the bank. he left all his money to his 4 children, 2 were on his checking account. are his children liable for any medical bills due to his going into hospital 3 or 4 days before passing away. he only had medicare.

Asked on 5/17/11, 10:40 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jay Rigdon Rockhill Pinnick LLP

The children are not liable. The money he had may go to Medicare or be used for other bills, but since this is not the children's money, you can not say they are liable because it would have otherwise gone to them.

Read more
Answered on 5/17/11, 11:03 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Indiana